The Sturgeon House is a museum, depository of local historical and genealogical data and a meeting place. In June 1980, The Sturgeon House was listed on the Pennsylvania Inventory of Historical Sites and was accepted for placement on the National Register of Historical Places. It is located on the southwest corner of the intersection of Avonia Road and Water Streets in the village of Fairview, once commonly called Sturgeonville. The original Sturgeon family purchased tracts beginning in 1803. A nephew, Robert Sturgeon purchased his tracts from them, on August 4, 1838 for $204.00 (DB R. Pg. 343). A federal style salt box structure was built, unique in that its main entry is through a recessed porch on the "low side." It was a simple farm dwelling. The original structure consisted of two large rooms on the first floor with two smaller bedrooms off to the east, a storage area behind the fireplace and a dormer-like second floor.