Strauss' 150th Birthday

June 14, 2014
Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra
600 Penn Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15222 GET DIRECTIONS
Local: 412-392-4900

Manfred Honeck, conductor

Rudolf Buchbinder, piano

R. Strauss (arr. Milos Bok): Suite from Elektra                                

R. Strauss:              Burleske in D minor for Piano and Orchestra                 

R. Strauss:              Suite from Der Rosenkavalier, Opus 59                           

Music Director Manfred Honeck closes the 2013-2014 BNY Mellon Grand Classics season with a program celebrating Richard Strauss' 150th birthday.  The program begins with an orchestral arrangement of Strauss' one-act opera, Elektra, inspired by Greek mythology.  Acclaimed pianist Rudolf Buchbinder performs the notoriously virtuosic and rarely performed concert piece, Burleske.  The concert concludes with the Suite from Der Rosenkavalier or "The Knight of the Rose"-music from one of Richard Strauss' most celebrated operas arranged for orchestra.

Fri, Jun 13, 2014  8:00 PM

Sat, Jun 14, 2014  8:00 PM

Sun, Jun 15, 2014  2:30 PM

Share This:
Loading Map.